You are here: Home > Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU)
Search Website:
Be Sociable, Share!

Educational Institutions

Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU)

The Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) is a comprehensive institution of higher learning in the Ilocos region, which was establish in 06 January 1978 by Presidential Decree (PD) 1279 and named after the father of former President Ferdinand E. Marcos. The decree merged two state colleges in the province of Ilocos Norte, the then Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Science and Technology (MMMCST) with campuses in Batac, Currimao, Paoay and Dingras, and the Northern Luzon State College (NLSC) in Laoag City. It also transferred the college departments of the Ilocos Norte College of Arts and Trades (INCAT) in Loag City and Ilocos Norte Agricultural College (INAC) in Pasuquin.

The university is relatively young compared to other state universities in the Philippines. However, MMSU’s root anchored deep, its foundation is strong, and its beginnings all proven historical turning points as far back as the early 1900’s.

To date, the university has nine academic units: Graduate School, College of Agriculture and Forestry, College of Aquatic Science and Applied Technology, College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, Economics and Accountancy, College of Engineering, College of Health Sciences, College of Industrial Technology, and College of Teacher Education.

MMSU is located in Ilocos Norte, a province in the northwestern part of Luzon Island, Philippines. Its main campus of about 300 hectares is in Batac City, 472 km away from Manila. Batac is an agricultural and peaceful city, which affords and excellent environment for educational and rural development. The location allows convenient commuting from the boundaries of Batac City and the towns of Paoay, Currimao, San Nicolas and Laoag City. Passenger jeepneys, mini buses and buses pass by the campus. In addition, the province has an international airport in Gabu, Laoag City and seaport at Gaang, Currimao.

MMSU also maintains five other campuses. These are located in Laoag City (2 campuses), Currimao, Dingras and Paoay.


The University shall be a major source of industry-ready graduates  and market-oriented technologies for agri-industralization in the context of sustainable development.


The University shall contribute to better quality of life and ecological balance through quality instruction, productivity, client-oriented research and extension programs and projects supported by adequate manpower and educational resources and information technology.

Goals And Objectives

University specially aims to:

  • Offer a wide range of academic programs at the certificate, associate, baccalaureate, masters and doctorate levels;
  • Maintain a broad range of research programs both in the basic and applied sciences, especially in the arts, agriculture, agribusiness, agroforestry, fisheries, teacher education, rural sociology, management, and technology which will generate knowledge and provide a basis for solutions to the development needs of the province and region;
  • Provide off-campus instructional  continuing education and extension services to meet the needs  of residents of the province and the region within the context of the regional and national non-formal education; and
  • Serve as the locus for the regional cooperative and development center for public and private colleges and universities in the Ilocos region.

General Information

  • Also Known As: Pambansang Pamantasang Mariano Marcos
  • Former Name: Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Science and Technology
  • Established: 6 January 1978 (by virtue of Presidential Decree 1279)
  • Type: State University
  • Location/s:
    • Batac City, Ilocos Norte (Main Campus)
    • Laoag City, Ilocos Norte
    • Paoay, Ilocos Norte
    • Currimao, Ilocos Norte
    • Dingras, Ilocos Norte
  • Official Student Publication: SIRMATA
  • Colors: Green and Gold
  • Nickname: MMSU Roosters
  • Website: